Annual Awards Rules and Regulations

Deadline: 5:00 p.m. EDT on March 17, 2014.

(The deadline has been extended)

Learn more about the six award types and their criteria:

  1. Alene Valkanas State Arts Advocacy Award
  2. Arts Education Award
  3. Emerging Leaders Award
  4. Michael Newton Award
  5. Selina Roberts Ottum Award for Arts Leadership
  6. Public Art Network Award

Who is eligible to submit a nomination for an award?
Award nominators must be Americans for the Arts members.

Who is eligible to receive an award?
Award nominees are not required to be Americans for the Arts members. Staff and Board of Directors of Americans for the Arts are not eligible to receive awards.

How will the awardee be selected?
Selection committees for each award are comprised of Americans for the Arts staff and Americans for the Arts Network Council members. These committees will review nominations based on each nominee’s eligibility and the nominee's contribution to the advancement of the arts and/or their particular specialty area. The winner will exhibit the benchmark of success described in each awards’ criteria.

What does the awardee receive?
The awardee will receive national recognition in all of Americans for the Arts media, including print and online publications; an opportunity to be a feature blogger on the Americans for the Arts ARTSblog; and all winners will be presented with their award at a plenary session at the 2014 Annual Convention in Nashville, TN. In addition, all awardees will receive one complimentary registration to attend the Annual Convention (travel and lodging not included).

2014 Award Winners will be posted on June 16, 2014